Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 24, 2007, 10:52 AM   #1

Hi,

I'm new to digital photography and want to ask experienced members of this forum
something about ISO-settings.

I've been looking at sample pictures of many digicams and have noticed that the image quality of most cameras is very good at low ISO-settings, say 100 or 200. At ISO 400 and above seemingly only pictures of DSLRs are still excellent.

My question now ist the following: Is it not possible to always shoot pictures at ISO
100 or 200? Please explain that to me.

Thanks!!

xer2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 24, 2007, 11:13 AM   #2

ISO was originally a photographic film's sensitivity to light or, equivalently, today's digital sensors' sensitivity to light.

Lower ISO (lower sensitivity) calls for longer exposures (and/or more light) while higher ISO speed ratings allow for shooting the same scene with shorter exposures or in lower light conditions. P&S cameras are often poor performers in low light as they generally do not offer as broad a range of ISO settings.

In most dSLR's, ISO is one of several easily set options. But while this trade-off allows cameras to shoot in lower light situations by using a higher ISO, the higher the ISO (in general) the more noise in the resulting digital image.

There is far more to learn about the interrelationships of ISO, aperature (f-stop), and shutter speed. You might try finding a good, beginning book on photography to learn more.

But, to answer your question very simply"Is it not possible to always shoot pictures at ISO 100 or 200?". Sure ... if you are willing to take photos where everything stands still for many seconds or minutes while a low light photo is being taken due to the camera's low light sensitivity (low ISO settings). If things do not stand still under lower light conditions, movement blur will occur. Again, read a good intro photography book to get started!