Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 12, 2003, 3:52 PM   #1

Default What paper cutter do you use?

I have never used one before with my inkjet prints...just scissors. But then again I rarely print out my photos. But I am getting a better camera soon and will probably be printing out more. Do you guys use a paper cutter? Which one? How expensive? Thanks.
Joshua B is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 12, 2003, 4:25 PM   #2
Administrator

Don't think paper cutter - think rotary trimmer. Paper cutters will butcher good photo paper even if the blade's sharp. You want to use a rotary trimmer, it has a circular blade and it cuts photo paper and transparency film like a razor blade.

They cost from $45 and up depending on the size. Just go to any Internet search engine and type in "rotary trimmer"

-Steve
steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2003, 4:35 PM   #3

Thanks Steve, I will do that.

You know, I was looking for the appropriate forum to thank you publicly for all you do, but didn't know exactly where to post. Since you answered me directly, this is as good a place to do it I suppose. For years, your site has been a resource for me, and I frequently point people in the Steve's Digicams direction. So keep up the good work. It means a lot to so many of us.
Joshua B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2003, 5:17 PM   #4

I have a Fiskars 12" Rotary Trimmer:

http://crafts.fiskars.com/projects/s...prod=9580-7097

This has worked well for my trimming as well for my wife's scrapbooking projects on 12" square papers. I happened to get mine at Michael's (an arts and crafts store) for about $40. What is neat about it is because you can change the blades out to either a patterned edge cut or a scoring blade. I have used the scoring blade on some 5x7 paper to cleanly fold over to a notecard with a picture on the front.