Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 14, 2003, 9:10 AM   #1

Default Need new camera after FedEx tragedy

yesterday we got a message from Kodak that our dc4800 was shipped to them in a state beyond repair. (I am glad we insured the package!) I really liked that camera! I am not a professional, but I like that in certain light settings, I was able to adjust things manually and both my husband and I agreed that it took great pictures. Unfortunately they don't make it anymore, they do not even have a refrubished one for us to buy. We have a baby on the way and I do not want to be without a digital camera. Anyone have some suggestions on a good camera that does both point and shoot and manual modes? Right now we are looking at the Olympus 750 and the Olympus c-5050. Is there something else we should be considering? We would like to be able to use our cf cards that we bought for the dc4800 (hence the fact that we are leaning towards the c-5050) but we don't want to miss out on a great camera because we did not know about it. Oh, we want at least 3 megapixels. Thanks!
zomiglady is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 14, 2003, 9:33 AM   #2

Default Canon A70

If you want something cheaper then the 5050, but with full manual settings (and P & S), 3 megapixels and CF cards, you may want to look at hte Canon A70. There are lots of owners of this camera here on the forum and , of course, there is a review on this site!
Arjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2003, 11:06 AM   #3

Yes the A70 is a great little camera I wholeheartedly agree with that and sounds perfect for what you stated you need it for.And its about half the price of the olympus C750.Of course these are two very different cameras.I myself own the Oly C750 and couldn't be without the 10x optical zoom on it.This would seem to be overkill for you're uses unless you plan on zooming onto your babies face FROM DOWN THE BLOCK ! :lol: