Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 9, 2007, 8:05 AM   #1

Hi everyone, I am planning to take pictures of my sister with her new baby using the same set up as the picture I've attached. As you can see when I photographed my brother in law, the baby 's arms are moving fast and are blurred, as were a lot of the shots I took that day. Can you give me any tips on what settings to use, bearing in mind that Im fairly new to this and am just taking my first steps in taking the camera off automatic! I am using a Fuji S9600 , many thanks
Attached Images

bonjen3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 9, 2007, 8:20 AM   #2
Administrator

That was using a 1/4 second shutter speed. Typically, you'd want something around 100 times as fast to prevent blur from rapid hand and foot movement.

But, you won't get that indoors without a flash in that kind of lighting.

Increase your ISO speed. That was an ISO 200 image. Each time you double your ISO speed, the camera will use shutters speeds twice as fast.

So, using ISO 800 would have gotten you shutter speeds of around 1/15 second (still far too slow to prevent blur from subject movement, but your percentage of keepers will increase). Make sure to smoothly squeeze the shutter button to help with blur from camera shake (or use a tripod).

Try not to zoom in any more than necessary, because blur from camera shake is magnified as you zoom in more. Also, your camera's lens is brighter at it's wider zoom setting. The camera would have used a slightly brighter aperture setting at it's widest zoom setting. So, not zooming in any would have probably got you up to a shutter speed close to 1/20 second at ISO 800 in that same lighting.

When you increase ISO speed, noise levels will also increase. So, you may want to use software to help later. Look into these (and they have demo/free versions available for personal use):