Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 26, 2007, 10:01 AM   #1

I'm a photographer and am constantly asked for camera recommendations, and simply refer people to your site. But I recently noticed that the new Canon cameras shoot in a 16:9 widescreen ratio. A mother-in-law bought a Fuji 45fd, which shoots a 4:3 ratio.
I don't understand this. With these ratios, your 4 x 6's are always cropped.
Don't any cameras offer a 3:2 ratio, or the option to switch ratios to what would seem like the most popular option for making 4 x 6 prints?
I just called Canon and the tech guy was confused about the difference between ratios and JPEG compression. He finally said that all the cameras offer the 16:9 or 4:3.
Thanks,
jlazphoto
jlazphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 26, 2007, 10:18 AM   #2

I'm fairly sure the dSLR's have a 3:2 aspect ratio, What I do to get around the prob is to leave a little room around subjects to allow the crop.
pagerboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2007, 12:17 PM   #3

I shoot with Mark II's, a 5D and 30D, which all have 3:2 ratios.
My question concerns cameras of the point and shoot variety, or even the "super zoom" (i.e. - Canon S5 IS).
Thanks
jlazphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2007, 1:04 PM   #4

With the exception of Olympus, Panasonic, and Kodak, dSLRs from all manufacturers use a 3:2 aspect ratio. Theyadoptedthis to be able to take advantage of the supply of lenses already available for 35mm film SLRs, which use the 3:2 aspect ratio. So the tradition of 3:2 continues.