Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 26, 2007, 12:17 PM   #1

Hello, i am fairly new to photography and i need some help. Thanks in advance. I have a canon 20d with an 18-55mm sigma lens. I am having trouble getting my pictures to focus right. Below is a picture, can someone tell me why the subject on the left is focused and the other two is not? How would i get all of them focused? Alot of my pictures come out this way, with some subjects focused and some are not. It is very frustrating and don't know why this is happening. How do i get all the subjects focused? This was shot in auto mode.
calitran is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 26, 2007, 1:16 PM   #2
Administrator

You have to take Depth of Field into consideration (how much is in focus as you get further away from your focus point).

The wider the aperture (lower f/stop settings), and the closer the focus distance, and the longer the focal length, the shallower your depth of field will be.

That was taken zoomed into 50mm, with the aperture wide open at f/5.6

See this Depth of Field Calculator. Pick your camera, plug in 50mm, f/5.6, and the focus distance to see Depth of Field.

http://www.dofmaster.com/dofjs.html

Don't fill the frame so much. Go for fuller length shots versus head and shoulder shots of groups at close range.

Back up (or don't zoom in as much) to get more depth of field indoors where you may want to use wider apertures.

You could also shoot in Av (Aperture Priority) mode and stop down the aperture a tad (for example, use f/8 or f/11) for group shots to get more depth of field.

But, don't stop it down too much (as the built in flash is fairly weak and using a smaller aperture (represented by a higher f stop number) will lower your maximum flash range, as well as let in less ambient light when using the flash.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2007, 3:41 PM   #3