Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 26, 2007, 7:35 PM   #1

I'm about to buy a filter to fit my largest lens (77mm) and want to get some step up rings so I can use the same filter with other lenses (67mm and 52mm). I'll be getting one of the more expensive filters (having used a cheap filter in the past, I know better than to scrimp here) and was wondering if I could save money by buying cheaper step-up rings. What would a $19.95 B+W step up ring offer that a $6.95 General Brand wouldn't have? I assume that the metal would be lighter with the cheaper ring, but I think I could live with that (I have a way of carrying it that I wouldn't worry too much about bending it). I'd get the more expensive ones if the metal is softer and I'd have trouble with the threads.

I'd appreciate any suggestions since I have no experience with this and will be buying blind (B&H gift certificate Christmas gift).
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 27, 2007, 8:55 AM   #2

The thickness of the ring is one issue, as thicker rings can cause vignetting at the shortest focal lengths of your lenses. Material is another, particularly if the ring is to be left on the lens. Brass or bronze is generally best as it doesn't tend to freeze to the lens barrel, as can happen with aluminum. I would avoid plastic, though - the threads are too easily damaged.

Hope this helps.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 27, 2007, 9:23 AM   #3

Thanks for the information - it's quite helpful. The only problem is that none of the on-line stores tell you what it's made out of (sigh). It does give me an idea of why some of them are so significantly more expensive though, and why you would want to pay the extra cost.