Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Sep 15, 2003, 12:54 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
dcrawley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 392
Default

It seems that everyone is forgetting that djkothbauer may not have a camera that supports connecting external flash unit to it. And trying to time manually flashing the unit at the same time as the shutter would be a nightmare.

An option may be the Zenon MagneFlash 57 (which Steve has reviewed http://www.steves-digicams.com/2003_...neflash57.html). From what I read, this does not require a connector to use.

Djkothbauer, is your camera make/model?
dcrawley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2003, 1:36 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 36
Default Syncing auxiliary flash with cameras' onboard flash...

Any slave flash will automatically sync itself perfectly with the onboard flash from a P&S digicam. It does this with the use of a built-in light sensor that senses the onboard flash and in turn triggers its own more powerful flash. Some of these are priced as low as $19.95
Even standard flashes that don't have a light sensor can be made to operate in slave mode by connecting them with a slave flash trigger. See them here: http://www.therollbar.com/triggers.htm.
HTH. PatiO
<img src=http://www.xmission.com/~benson1/WEB_PICS/CANON.jpg>
Bob Benson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2003, 2:06 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 52
Default

Does it matter if the flash has a option to ignore the preflash? I was told that I must have one with this option if I am using the light sensor method. Can anyone clear this up for me? I understand about how many digicams shoot a first flash for the white balance or what not, but since my camera does not have any way to hook up a flash, will this cause a problem if I get a flash that has no way to ignore the preflash? Ok, I think I just confused myself.....

Camera: Oly D-550
djkothbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2003, 8:33 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 52
Default

Figured it out. That last website told me what I needed to know.

Thanks a lot :lol:
djkothbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2003, 8:45 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 36
Default Does it matter...

>Does it matter if the flash has a option to ignore the preflash?
>I was told that I must have one with this option if I am using the light sensor method. Can anyone clear this up for me?

Yes, because the 550 emits a pre-flash, you must have a slave flash that can ignore the cameras' pre-flash. Here's the way it works:
You have a digital slave flash mounted on a bracket on your camera. There is no wired connection between the flash and your camera. When you press the shutter release, your camera will emit a pre-flash to set its white-balance, then an instant later, it fires the final burst to light the scene. The digital slave 'sees' these two flashes, but, because it has a 200ms built-in delay circuitry, it ignores the first flash and then fires its own more powerful burst in perfect sync with the cameras' final burst.

>I understand about how many digicams shoot a first flash for the white balance or what not, but since my camera does not have any way to hook up a flash, will this cause a problem if I get a flash that has no way to ignore the preflash? Ok, I think I just confused myself.....

Just keep in mind that slave flashes don't need to be wired to the camera in any way. They have a light sensor built in that 'sees' the flash from the camera and in turn triggers thier own flash to help light the scene. I have been using slave flashes for years and love the improved skin tones I get. I think if you try slave flash, you won't want to go back to the flat lighting of onboard flash. HTH. PatiO
<img src=http://www.xmission.com/~benson1/WEB_PICS/OLY.jpg>
Bob Benson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2003, 9:33 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 37
Default Re: (Off topic) Can a camera flash harm my newborn baby's ey

Quote:
Originally Posted by djkothbauer
I am wondering if I am damaging his future eye sight in any way. Does anyone know???

Any information would be greatly apreciated.
I'm sure this wouldn't typically cause any problems, but the following percaution is stated in my camera's manual:

Quote:
Do not trigger the flash in close promitiy to human or animal eyes. Exposure to the intense light produced by the flash may injure eyesight. In particular, remain at least one meter(39 inches) away from infants when using the flash.
Now, this is just what's written in my camera's manual, but as most flashes can be very intense, I'd think it'd apply for many. Common sense is all I'd suspect. So long as you're not right up in your baby's face.

maki
maki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2003, 7:01 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,910
Default

In the case of my Oly, I had a tough time finding a slave flash in Canada that worked properly with the preflash...most camera stores aren't educated enough. I had to settle for the expensive Metz 34CS2 slave, but then it's nice since it has a large guide number for a small flash (although the non-rechargeable lithium batteries for it aren't cheap).
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2003, 11:32 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 36
Default

Altho Metz makes fine flashes, I find them to be overpriced and I don't like paying $8 for batteries that only give around 150 - 200 flashes. Kinda takes the 'free' out of digital photography. I would encourage those who don't have a good local source of economical flashes and other gear to shop on line. This page, http://www.therollbar.com/flashes.htm and many others on various sites list sources to less expensive auxiliary slave flashes that work just fine with point & shoot cameras. HTH. PatiO
Bob Benson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2003, 5:08 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,910
Default

Corrected link, http://www.therollbar.com/flashes.htm

The problem with most of the slaves on that page is they don't work with preflash cameras. I looked around for the DigiSlave in Canada, but had no luck...I "settled" for the Metz, but don't regret it now; it has a guide number higher than most of the slaves on that page (except for the other Metz).

I admit though it would be nice if the 34CS2 used rechargeable batteries, even if it was a proprietary battery.
Mike_PEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 19, 2003, 10:30 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 103
Default

hech out this link, this could be the saviour for all our digital slave flash needs.

http://www.vivitar.com/Products/Flas...ash.html#DF200

Don't know how much in the US but can be bought in the UK for about 60
jabtas is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:19 PM.