Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Sep 9, 2003, 2:03 AM   #1

Default (Off topic) Can a camera flash harm my newborn baby's eyes?

My wife just had a baby and I love taking pictures of little Evan. It is really hard to catch him with his eyes open as he is only 2 weeks old so I carry my digital camera around with me everywhere and catch several snaps of him when he does wake up. But everytime I take a picture with the flash on of him with his eyes open he gets very upset and irritated. I am wondering if I am damaging his future eye sight in any way. Does anyone know???

Any information would be greatly apreciated.
djkothbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 9, 2003, 7:57 AM   #2

Although I am not a medical doctor, I am the father of a 2 year old and a 3 month old. I don't think the flash does any damage, after all I can see just fine and I know my parents took their share of pictures of me. If the flash was damaging, don't you think it would be common knowledge and your pediatrician would have advised you against taking flash photography? Just don't get right in his face with the flash, but of course that rule goes for anyone and not just babies.

We don't have any defenses such as claws, brute strength, and sharp teeth, etc... like our friends in the animal kingdom. Your little boy is just fine and his reflexes are reacting to the flash.

My son used to "jump" each time the carseat snapped into position, but he got used to it. My daughter does the same thing, but she seems to be getting used to it now.

Be sure to post some pix of the little guy! You can see mine at: http://photos.jacobfam.net
PrmseKpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2003, 8:39 AM   #3

Default Probably Not