Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 12, 2008, 6:11 PM   #1

As I said I'm completely new. I'm your generic Joe consumer in most aspects. I'm good with computers and know how to use photoshop etc. However when it's come to cameras I usually just looked at my price range and found the one with the highest MP. Things are about to change though!

I'm an airline pilot. I've seen too many magnificant things to not be taking photo's of them. From flying over downtown New York on a crisp night to landing through a snowy storm in Cleveland I've had some mental pictures taken I wish I could share with others.

Since I'm looking around at new cameras to get, can't decide on DSLR or a Canon G9, I'm seeing a few things I don't understand.

--Ok so I want to know more about the differences between DSLR and something like the G9 or any other point and shoot. I understand what a SLR is so I'm wanting to know a little more in debth. Lets talk lens size. What makes the SLR so much more effective? I have an older 35mm Minolta that has taken great pictures from a trip in africa. I decided to pull the lens out to look at the size and on the side it says it goes up to 300mm. Is that the same as someone saying "this camera has 7x optical zoom"? What does the 25mm-300mm really mean? I see some places say 35mm equivalent of 210mm etc.

For instance the G9 says "6x optical 35-210mm f/2.8-4.8 zoom, 4x digital zoom". My minolta 35mm has a lense that goes to somewhere around 250mm. Does this mean that the G9 can zoom almost just as much yet is half the size? I guess I don't see the connection. Why the huge lense on the SLR when something smaller can get higher magnification? The Sony Cybershot is 10x magnification with a 38-380mm (35mm) equivalent lens and would take up considerably less space than a DSLR with my 300mm lens. Where's the payoff for DSLR?