Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 10, 2008, 2:38 PM   #1

Hello,

I am very new to SLR (just started to learn).

I do a lot of reading trying to purchase some sd card for my Nikon 40d. Looking for 2g or 4g sh card.

The more I read the more I am getting confuse. Like should I get 2 SDHC - 2g cards or 1 4g card ? Should I get regular sd or hcsd or sanddisk exterme III and should I get a class 2 is good enough or should I get class 6 and some of them saying 150x...etc

Any recommand will be great.

Thanks !

Guppies
guppies is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 10, 2008, 3:14 PM   #2
Administrator

Personally, I'd get a Class 6 SDHC card. Most of the better brands are going to have write speeds in excess of 10MB/Second, and card prices have dropped so much lately, that it doesn't cost much to get a larger and faster card, even if your camera won't take advantage of the speed the latest and greatest cards provide.

You can get an 8GB Class 6 Transcend SDHC card for around $30 now with a lifetime warranty. See this example for $29.99 plus shipping at newegg.com:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820208293

The Extreme III you mentioned is also a Class 6 Card (Class 6 doesn't mean it's limited to 6MB/Second -- that's just the minimum sustained write speed) and has a very good reputation. It's more expensive than some of it's competitors, though. Also, make sure you are buying any Sandisk cards from a reputable vendor (as many of the Sandisk cards you find on Ebay and elsewhere are counterfeit).

I would suggest having more than one card. Failures do happen, even with the best brands, and it's good to have a spare.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2008, 3:31 PM   #3

First, the difference between SD and SDHC: