Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 17, 2008, 5:28 PM   #1

hello. i just got a d40 and my dad gave me his lens 70-210mm of course i have no idea what this means or what it is used for!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i'm really new at this! can anyone explain the lens and what i would use it for! i want soem good shots of my son at his first t-ball game. i wont be able to get too close. and then some easter egg hunts that are coming up! can anyone help someone so clueless and dont even know what to ask. i have used the camera several times lately even witht he lens but i just put it on auto and shoot. (easy way out i know) thanks!
paintthesky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 17, 2008, 5:33 PM   #2
Administrator

What brand of lens is it, and what do you see printed on the front of the lens?

Chances are, it's not going to autofocus on your Nikon D40. The newer entry level Nikon bodies like the D40, D40x and D60 do not have focus motors built into the camera bodies.

So, you need to use lenses that do have focus motors built in if you want Autofocus. For example, Nikon's AF-S (Silent Wave Focusing) or Sigma's HSM (Hypersonic Motor Focusing) lenses.

Most other Nikon camera bodies will not have this restriction (requiring a lens with a focus motor built in). The only Nikon SLR or dSLR camera bodies without focus motors are the D40, D40x and D60.

You could probably use manual focus with it. If it's an Autofocus lens, you probably wouldn't have any autofocus with a D40. But, you'd still have metering. With a manual focus lens, you'd lose metering, too (so, you'd have to estimate the settings needed for aperture, ISO speed and shutter speed, "shooting blind", without another meter to measure light).

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2008, 6:46 PM   #3