Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 31, 2008, 5:53 PM   #1

Hi.

After hooking up my Samsung S1050 camera to my computer using the supplied USB cable and then viewing the pictures on the computer screen, I find that when I return to using the camera, I can no longer view the pictures on the screen of the camera.

I thought I may have accidently erased the pictures, but, when I took the SD card out of the camera and put it in a card reader, I could see the pictures on my computer screen again.

Obviously the images are still on the SD card, but I cannot find a way to view them when the card is put back inside the camera.

Is there something I need to do to the camera to correct this and if so, can I permanently correct this for when I want to view certain individual pictures on my computer without having to go through all this fuss again ?

I'm pretty new to digital cameras, so I don't really know what I am doing at the moment.

All help will be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.
arthur weasley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 31, 2008, 8:36 PM   #2

Are you using Samsung software to view the pictures on the computer, or somethig else?

If you are using Windows, your camera should show up as a mass storage device, and when it is plugged in, you can check the drive properties. Under the Policies tab, look to see if write caching is enabled. If so, disable it. It could be that your computer is writing indexing information to the card, preventing the camera from being able to read it.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 1, 2008, 3:58 AM   #3

Hello again.

Out of curiosity I tried a different SD card in my camera ( this had already been used in another camera ), again I looked at the pictures and then checked them on my cameras viewer.

They were still there !!!