Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 31, 2008, 8:18 PM   #1

I have a Pentax K10D DSLR and am throughly enjoying photgraphing things with it, but so far I have only transfered my images to my computer.

I realize I should store them on a CD in case of problems with the computer, but I'm not sure if a regular CD from Staples would do the trick, or do I need to get special CDs from say a camera shop to preserve the images exactly as I took them.

Also do CD's have a certain 'life' before they degrade, rendering the stored images unusable?

I'm a newbie at this digital image storage stuff, so would appreciate all the simplified help you could give me.

Thanks, Les
lesmore49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 31, 2008, 9:42 PM   #2

TCav's rules for selecting blank CDs:
  1. Don't buy Store Brands. [/*]
  2. Don't buy anything that says "Made in USA."[/*]
And, yes, writeable (CD-R) and rewritable (CD-RW) CDs fade over time, but that time is several years. If you really want to keep your images secure, write the original images, and any that have undergone any significant post processing, onto CD-Rs so they can't be accidentally deleted. And write them onto two different CDs, each from a different manufacturer. And recreate those CD-Rs every 5 years or so.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2008, 10:12 PM   #3

TCav wrote:
Quote:
TCav's rules for selecting blank CDs:
  1. Don't buy Store Brands. [/*]
  2. Don't buy anything that says "Made in USA."[/*]
And, yes, writeable (CD-R) and rewritable (CD-RW) CDs fade over time, but that time is several years. If you really want to keep your images secure, write the original images, and any that have undergone any significant post processing, onto CD-Rs so they can't be accidentally deleted. And write them onto two different CDs, each from a different manufacturer. And recreate those CD-Rs every 5 years or so.