Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Sep 26, 2008, 8:59 PM   #1

I am an amateur (very) photographer, I am having trouble getting my pictures processed to match the color of my monitor. I was told that you can buy a product like spyder to use to calibrate my monitor, I see there are several different ones. I don't want to spend a lot of money, I have a large family and have always been the one behind the camera, so I do take a lot of pictures. Maybe someday I will take classes and learn more to get more advanced, but for now I am planning on staying with family. Please give me some advice on what to buy. I do have a new computer, a 22" widescrene 1680 X 1050 VGA and HDMI monitor. It is a vista program.
KSamateur is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 27, 2008, 9:22 AM   #2

First, the human eye perceives reflected color (from a photo print) differently than it does transmitted color (from a monitor.) So it likely that you will always notice differences between the two, even after calibration.

Second, you can go through the tedious process of calibrating your monitor using an inexpensive system, or spend a lot of money on a system that will be easier to use, or you can use ICC color profiles.

If you can use an ICC color profile for your monitor when you edit (or just preview) your image, then the image you see on the screen will more closely resemble the image you see in the prints.

AND IT"S FREE!

See if the manufacturer has an ICC Color profile for your monitor, and install it. Once you've installed it, don't touch the monitor controls. (You wouldn't be able to ever adjust your monitor if you used one of the other methods either, so this isn't an impediment imposed by using the ICC profiles.)
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2008, 3:01 PM   #3