Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 14, 2003, 10:36 AM   #1

Default Wide Angle Digicams

I am a professional photographer and I have recently begun using digital cameras. There are times a small "point and shoot" camera would come in very handy if they were wide enough. Why can't there be a small digicam with a zoom range that would include 28mm? I know that Olympus has come out with a digicam that is wide, but it is larger than the smaller digicams. If I wanted something larger, I would use my D10.
I feel that many people would buy a smaller digicam if it was wider.
Jack
jacksmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 14, 2003, 1:08 PM   #2

People don't know what they want, just look at all the questions that have been posted asking, "Which camera should I buy?" and they list things from the smallest pocket camera to a dSLR. Also most want closer, not wider...there have been a few complaints, "when I look through the viewfinder of my 3x zoom camera, why isn't it 3x closer to my eye?"

Personally, I love the size of the C-series Olympus (I own a C-700)...I tried the C-5060 at a camera show recently, but much prefer my C-700 with my wide angle attachment...you would describe as too big and heavy, but a little weight and bulk helps to steady the camera (many of the other ultra zoom cameras just introduced are too LIGHT!

Also, it's probably tougher to make a small wide angle lens; if you look at wide angle converters, they're always much wider at the front than where they attach to the camera...if you look even at a WA converter for a small Nikon Coolpix it makes the camera much larger, example, http://www.andromeda.com/people/ddye...wideangle.html Certainly a built in WA lens would have the same problems.