Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 16, 2009, 10:04 PM   #1

Hi,

I am trying to capture images in different bands of the visible spectrum.

So, instead of the RGB bands, I want to use a filter to split the R band into two, G band into two, etc.

Essentially, the result will be six identical images but each taken with only exposure to certain wavelengths. So.. image the visible spectrum below

| R | G | B |

|<-->| <- this is what I want in one photo, without half of the R, and without G and B.

I am completely new to photography, and am wondering if there is anything like that out there?

Thanks

vegetable is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 16, 2009, 10:52 PM   #2

I think you can do some of what you want with filters, but I think it would be easier in post processing. You might be interested in Tiffen's Dfx Digital Filter Software.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2009, 12:12 AM   #3

the software looks intriguing, but I think i'd rather go with the filters because I'll be losing data if i do post processing, right?

essentially I want to run some algorithms on the images, using the different filters to obtain more data per spectrum-block, if you will.

what would these filters be called? I don't have an slr and only a canon point/shoot camera, but I'm hoping to place it in front of the camera as close as possible to obtain the desired effect. Any opinions?

thanks for your help!
vegetable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2009, 8:14 AM   #4

Take a look at Adorama's selection of Black & White Contrast Filters. Also, take a look at the Cokin Filter System.
Old Jan 17, 2009, 5:38 PM   #5

vegetable wrote:
Quote:
the software looks intriguing, but I think i'd rather go with the filters because I'll be losing data if i do post processing, right?

essentially I want to run some algorithms on the images, using the different filters to obtain more data per spectrum-block, if you will.