Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Apr 12, 2009, 6:53 PM   #1

Hi,

I am a manager and like to shoot photo's since I've got a camara for my birthday. I use my camara mostly when I am on vacation.

I am new and very green in digital photography. I've been asked by my niece -who cannot afford a professional photographer- if I would like to shoot her wedding. She is one of my favorite niece and I have never done this or have been asked for this.

A friend of hers told her the best wedding photographers use a Nikon. Can I use my Canon EOS 10D and which lens do I have to use for this and where exactly do I have to look or shoot for ? Or is it wisely to go look and buy a Nikon?

Thanks.
gretchenta is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 13, 2009, 12:30 PM   #2
Administrator

Welcome.

I'll move this thread down to our General Q&A forum, where more members are likely to see it and respond.

This topic comes up from time to time in the forums, and you'll probably get some advise on spare equipment needed (including a decent flash), poses, skill level, and more.

But, if there are other options, you may want to decline if your skill level isn't up to the task (especially if you've never shot a wedding before).

How long have you had this 10D (you mentioned getting a camera for your birthday)? Do you have a good understanding of basic photography (aperture, shutter speed, iso speed, depth of field, lighting, composition, etc.)?

Your skill level is going to be the most important thing, and you'll want some experience under your belt shooting in the same conditions with the equipment you plan on using.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2009, 1:54 PM   #3

gretchenta wrote:
Quote: