Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Oct 31, 2003, 10:52 AM   #1

Default How do I spend my cash?

:? I am trying to decide how best to spend my cash on a digital camera. I am fairly new to the photographic world, and certainly to digital cameras, so I am after a camera that is easy to use out of the box, yet has lots of manual features for when I get more used to it all.

I want to photograph wildlife as well as the usual holiday portrait and landscape shots, so something with a decent optical zoom would be best. I also want a high resolution just in case I fluke a decent shot that I want to print.

Can anyone offer me their advice on which of the following cameras I should invest in :?: ...

:idea: Fuji Finepix S7000
:idea: Sony Cybershot DSC F717
:idea: Minolta D'Image 7i

Cheers for your help, I look forward to hearing your thoughts....
Rich M is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 31, 2003, 12:30 PM   #2

You also might want to consider the Panasonic FZ1/FZ2 (2MP) or the FZ10 (4MP, which will be out sometime in November). All three cameras are 12x optical and have image stabilization. I guess it just depends on how much you want to spend.
PrmseKpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2003, 1:48 PM   #3

Cheers for the tip.
I'm trying to get some info on the Panasonic Lumix range as we 'speak'.

I live in the UK, so don't suppose you know when we're likely to see one of these newer cameras over this side of the pond do you :?:

The Leica lense is quite exciting, just as long as the camera has enough oomph to process the images clearly.

Am prepared to spend quite a bit of cash on this one as I want it to last me for a while. Any idea what sort of cost these Panasonic ones are likely to come in at :?:

So, I suppose my question now is, should I go for a Sony DSC F717, a Fuji Finepix S7000 (not yet out in the UK) or should I wait to see the Panasonic FZ10?