Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 5, 2009, 5:21 PM   #1

Default Beginning a company

Howdy

Im an amateur photographer and have been asked to shoot for a local sports magazine to help me become better and get my name out there. So far so good... in my first weekend I handed out cards from the magazine I am shooting for with some of my details also on there and from that Ive had calls asking if they can buy photos.

Ive talked to the editor and owner of the magazine and they told me that I can and should sell them for myself. Im unsure where to go from here though...

Im currently looking at doing the following:
- Make a small business then make a website and sell them online
OR
- Sell them as cash jobs

Any help would be appreciated especially from those who have made it their profession or set up weekend business.

Cheers
Kronnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 5, 2009, 6:13 PM   #2
Super Moderator

I'm hoping that JohnG will chip in on this as he has a better understanding of the US sports scene. I used to shoot a lot of sports here in the UK at local events but haven't for about a year as the financial rewards were not really warranting my time so now I mainly shoot portrait and weddings. A single good wedding can bring as much as a years sporting events.

Anyway, back to you, I would be careful how soon you are offering paid services as I notice you have only been doing this for a couple of months. It's very easy to get a bad rep if you don't produce good work so just ensure that you know you can do a shoot and come back with the results every time. Also make sure you have backups if you are being paid to get something specific as if you turn up and your kit fails you will be very stuck.