Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 9, 2009, 11:02 AM   #1

Default Shooting football(soccer) players properly!

Hi all,

I could really do with some tips.

I am new to using a "proper" camera - I have just got a Nikon D50.

I am the programme editor for my local football (soccer) team and this year I want to get some excellent shots that I couldn't get on my old digital camera!

The bloke in the shop said that the way to do it was to alter certain settings.

If it is an overcast day then change the ISO to 800 and the shutter speed to 1/1000th sec speed, change the autofocus to AF-C and the AF-area mode to dynamic (he showed me how to do all this!)

If it is a sunny day then lower the ISO to 200 and change the shutter speed to 2/1000 sec.

Is there anything else that people can tell me taht will help in getting some great shots.

I also have a Tamron 70-300mm lens as well as the one that came with the camera (18-55mm)

Any help will be brilliant.

Cheers

Peter
HTFC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 9, 2009, 11:38 AM   #2

sent you a PM...
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2009, 12:18 PM   #3

Thank you JohnG.
Old Jul 9, 2009, 1:03 PM   #4
Administrator

Peter:

I think you'll find that most of our Sports Shooters prefer to use either Aperture Priority or Manual Exposure (but only if lighting is very consistent).

Now, the settings the camera shop suggested using Shutter Priority might work... But, you'd be "pushing the limits" of your available apertures with that lens. For example, on a very overcast day, you may need f/5.6 at ISO 800 to get proper exposure using 1/1000 second; or on a brighter day, you may need f/5.6 at ISO 200 to get proper exposure at 1/2000 second (I'm assuming the 2/1000 second was a typo and you meant 1/2000 second).