Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Nov 7, 2003, 5:35 AM   #1

Default canon a70 v/s sony p72 or p8

i wanted to now which of these cameras delivers better image , im a newbie n hence dont thin ill be usin the manual controls. i need a digicam mainly for indoor shots , such as parties n all . i would like the camera to take shots very fast one after the other in normal mode . i need a camera which is also a bit durable , coz nothin stayz perfect in my hands , i had a nikon 4300 1st it fell n the lens mechanism broke so i sold that one .
aman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 7, 2003, 10:22 AM   #2
Administrator

I bought a Sony DSC-P10 (similiar to the P8 you're considering, only the P10 is 5 Megapixels).

I found that the flash recycle time was terrible (usually around 5 seconds). Indoor metering and Focus were also very inconsistent -- despite it's focus assist lamp.

I replaced the P10 with a Konica Revio KD-510z (now being marketed as the Minolta DiMAGE G500 in the U.S.).

The Konica is a MUCH better camera for indoor use. At closer (normal) distances (around 4 feet), I am able to take one photo every 2.1 seconds in continuous mode, including Flash Recycle time.

This is because the Konica "throttles down" the flash strength, depending on the range to your subject. I've been VERY impressed with it's indoor performance.

Regardless of how well a camera performs outdoors, you will be limited by flash recycle time indoors. So, I'd take this into consideration when purchasing a camera.

You may want to try out cameras in a store (many stores have demo models), taking photos at ranges you are likely to encounter, before making a decision.

Unfortunately, I know of no reviewers that measure flash recycle times (which is the biggest limiting factor for indoor photos).
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2003, 1:44 PM   #3