Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 21, 2009, 1:33 PM   #1

Default Crop factor, is it the same as cropping yourself?

I am a newbie in photography. Initially, I was amazed by the optical zoom camera and camcorder offer. For example, the highest optical zoom for compact camera is 26X and highest optical zoom for camcorder is 70X.

After reading up and understand crop factor, I realized all these are marketing gimmick. For example, the 26X camera and 70X camcorder all have high crop factor, the 70x camcorder having a crop factor of 20X. With the crop factor, I realized it is equivalent to using a (2000mm/20X=100mm lens).

My question is if I use a DSLR camera and a 100mm lens, can I achieve the same picture as the camcorder by cropping it manually in photoshop?
maisatomai is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 21, 2009, 2:21 PM   #2

I don't think you are using the term crop factor correctly. When referring to "x", typically one is referring to zoom, more specifically the longest focal length divided by the shortest. So 70x means the longest focal length is 70 times longer the shortest. the crop factor when talking about dslr's refers to field of view relative to 35mm. Since DSLR's have a smaller sensor area than 35mm film, the same focal length will have a different field of view. Camcorders (and digital point and shoot cameras) can have larger "x" ratings because of their much smaller sensors. As you mention, "x" is a relatively useless term.

Now that being said, you can always crop your photo's to achieve a different filed of view/perspective. However, extreme cropping like your suggesting will lead to a serious reduction of quality. Which isn't all that different from using the extreme zoom on a camcorder, which usually results in extremely poor quality.
rjseeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2009, 2:33 PM   #3