Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Sep 14, 2009, 6:17 AM   #1

Default Wedding photography / JPEG or RAW

G'day all,

I am looking at moving into the world of wedding photography. I am still very new to the world of "advanced photography" and up to this point have still not shot my first wedding. I continue to build up my kit and am having a lot of fun honing my PP skills.

I have hit a hurdle. Should I shoot JPEG or RAW or both? After a google search and a lot of reading I have come to the decision that I am not really sure. I have heard arguments from both camps of which both made sense to me but am keen to hear what the good people of this forum think with regard to this subject, particularly any who PP using Aperture2.

Tks,

Ryno
Ryno is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 14, 2009, 8:15 AM   #2

Shooting weddings a big topic here. Most of the discussion centers around people who want to weddings asking for shot ideas etc who have never shot a wedding before. Most of these people are unexperienced when it comes to doing a wedding and wedding photography is one of the hardest events to photograph out there. You need to really build up your experience first before you start to do weddings. Work as an assistant, shoot family weddings or shoot as a second photographer at friends weddings for a while first.

As for the jpeg or raw the debate will always be there. I shoot joegs because of the faster turn around time I get after shooting a large event with 100s and maybe even a 1000 images. One thing you can do if your camera allows to shoot jpeg+Raw. Review the jpeg images on the computer an then the ones you wan to save go ahead and process the raw files. I have never had the time to play around with RAW images as I shoot way too much..........

dave
Photo 5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2009, 9:49 AM   #3

Ryno,