Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Sep 25, 2009, 7:29 AM   #1

Default shoot portrait

i'm a newbie wanna have a ask,my question is wanna shoot portrait (indoor/outdoor) what the setting i should used?
shulter speed=?
apeture=?
iso=?
w/b=?
metering=?
Old Sep 25, 2009, 7:54 AM   #2

Michael,
There is absolutely no single answer to that question. The answers go to the heart of photography and what the different variables control.

For example, let's take Aperture. Aperture, along with lens focal length will control the depth-of-field in the photo. Assume you want to take a head-and-shoulders shot of someone. If we leave the focal length of the lens constant (and thus your distance to subject constant so the head and shoulders are what is in the frame at that focal length), you can change the aperture to allow more or less of the subject and background to be in focus (depth-of-field). A wider aperture (lower f-number) and the less that will be in focus. A narrower aperture, the more will be in focus.

HOw much of a difference changing the aperture makes depends on the sensor size of the camera and the physical focal length being used. If you're using a full frame DSLR and 200mm lens you'll notice a fairly big difference as you go from F2.8 to f16. If your using a digicam with small sensor at 200mm equivelent you're not going to notice a big difference - even at f2.8 there will be a lot of DOF.

Very often depth of field is the first decision in the exposure chain - i.e. you decide how much you want in or out of focus and then set ISO and shutter speed to get a proper exposure.

Also, lighting is critical in portraits. Flash is extremely beneficial in many portrait situations - indoors because there is often a lack of quality light and even outdoors to provide "fill" where the flash fills in shadows.