Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Nov 15, 2003, 9:34 AM   #1

Default new digicam user

Please give me an advice. its my first time to buy a digicam and i have a budget of only $300-$350. I would prefer a 3.2 mega pix, and uses a rechargeable lithium or lithium ion batteries. please advise me coz its my first time to buy digicam. thanks very much.
elenamontaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 15, 2003, 9:44 AM   #2
Administrator

I would give strong consideration to a camera like the Minolta DiMAGE G500. IMO, it's a real "steal" at current prices, with image quality that can match or exceed much larger 5MP cameras.

It's a 5 megapixel, subcompact model (small enough to fit in a pocket yet still very easy to hold and use, with great low light focus ability, flash range, excellent image quality, 3x Optical Zoom, and lots of user control).

You can find them discounted (online vendors) for slightly over $300.00 now (as low as $301.00 from some reputable dealers).

It uses a Lithium Ion Battery, and you can find Generic 850mAh Spares for as little as $10.20 from an Ebay vendor.

It can also use Secure Digital and/or Memory Stick Media, and you can have both in the camera at the same time (you tell it which one to use first, and it will automatically switch to the other when the first is full).

See this thread for someone else looking for a 3 Megapixel Compact Camera for more info, links to albums and user comments about it, vendor information, and much more about features, etc.

http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/v...ghlight=#76828

I suggested they consider this 5MP model instead: Minolta DiMAGE G500 (a.ka., Konica Revio KD-510z).
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2003, 10:19 AM   #3

Default minolta g500