Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 23, 2010, 12:02 PM   #1

Default How I balance exposure - is this acceptable?

I hope to explain a technique I’ve been using to balance exposure with my camera, and hopefully get some feedback how I might improve in this area …

A little about the camera … Kodak Z1012is - includes manual mode, shutter priority mode, aperture priority mode, and a long list of other features. It seems the full aperture range is f/2.8 – f/8.0 but is limited in this range dependent upon other settings such as zoom level. It seems the full shutter range is 1/1000 – 16.0”, ISO range of 64 – 3200, exposure compensation range of +/-2.0 EV with 1/3 EV steps, and lastly a flash compensation range of +/-1.0 with 1/3 steps. (Note: I disable the flash altogether … haven’t found a scenario outdoors that I would want a flash)

I graduated from “auto” mode just a couple of months ago. I spent some time using the Program mode which allows adjusting ISO and exposure compensation only, and the camera automatically selects aperture and shutter speed. Using the Program mode (or only adjusting ISO and exposure compensation) for a while gave me a pretty good sense of how to balance exposure.

More recently I’ve been spending all my time in the manual mode and learning how all of the adjustments have an affect upon the other components. Manual mode on this camera allows adjustment of aperture, shutter speed, ISO, and flash compensation – and the camera automatically adjusts exposure compensation.