Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Nov 25, 2003, 8:21 AM   #1
Hub

Default Which Camera Sony or Canon?

I have been using a Canon A1 for over 20 years. I have never used a digital camera. I am now considering either the new Canon Digital Rebel SLR or the Sony DSCF828 which really isn't on the market quite yet. I was all set to buy the Canon until I stumbled across the Sony's specs. With my limited knowledge of digital photography, the Sony in its specifications, appears to be the better camera. They both cost the same! My question is does the Sony really look that much better by the specs than the Canon? I know that this is a difficult question because I doubt if anyone has actually used the Sony yet. However, I am talking in just comparing the specs. Any comments or advise would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Hub is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 25, 2003, 8:54 AM   #2
Administrator

Nobody knows for sure with the 828, since the only samples I've seen are from pre-producton cameras.

The 828 does appear to have relatively high noise (because of the density of the new 8 Megapixel CCD), but Sony will probably have this issue worked out so that noise is not as noticeable in the production models.

One of the benefits of a camera like the Sony, is that it will have great focal range (28-200mm) with a very fast lens.

With a dSLR, you'd need to have more than one lens to get the same focal range and light gathering capability.

However, Canon EOS-300D will be able to shoot at much higher ISO speeds, with lower noise, compared to any consumer digital camera (including the new Sony).

There are pros and cons to both choices. If you want a camera better suited for low light sports, etc., then the EOS-300D would make a much better choice (provided you bought fast lenses (lower F-stop numbers to go with it).
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2003, 9:36 AM   #3
Administrator