Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Nov 25, 2003, 4:06 PM   #1

Default Digital Cameras with Cornice SE?

I'm a newbie to digital cameras, but does anyone know if they're going to have digital cameras with the Cornice SE technology built in? It's basically a small data drive with 1.5 GB, and it's already been used in MP3 players. It's small and very cost-effective. Plus, for a digital camera, it would probably hold your entire photo collection on it.
PeterDLai is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 25, 2003, 5:25 PM   #2
Administrator

Peter:

Not that I'm aware of.

The company's web site does appear to promote the advantages well, using phrases like "lowest cost-to-capacity ratio of any storage solution"

However, can they make a profit selling these storage solutions for a price this low, or is this simply another case of a product being marketed at below cost, to get interest in it up?

They do have some interesting investors/partners, but the industry already has lots of new storage media types.

I find it hard to believe that a new product (without support from camera manufacturers) will "make the cut" in the Digital Camera Market.

The newest media types for Digital Cameras, were developed in Partnership with Camera and Memory manufacturers (Xd Picturecard, Secure Digital).

You can already get solid state devices in extremely large capacities, with no worries about potential failure of moving parts.

As with any other technology, competition will drive prices down. We are already seeing new devices (including non-camera devices) using Secure Digital now, since SD is "postage stamp" size media, with capacities up to 512mb now (and transfer rates of 10mb/second), with larger capacities already announced.