Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 4, 2003, 3:43 PM   #1

Default Lag time when depressing button...

I am an amateur digital camera photographer and I have a question for all of your experienced folks out there. My brother wants a digital camera that he can use for "action" shots of his children playing sports. He is not TOO concerned with the pixel count or SUPER high quality, but he really wants to be able to just push the button and click the shot instantly without any lag time between depressing the button and taking the photo. The price isn't too important either, so please let me have some good information about cameras that excel in this area. Thanks very much for any input.

Tony
[email protected]
monster69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 4, 2003, 6:58 PM   #2

Fuji S602 is pretty fast. Other Fuji models also seem to be quite responsive.
The latest Konica is also said to be fast.

Digital slr's are the fastest with shutter response. The market starts with the famous Canon 300D. Probably a bit overdone/impracticle for family photos. (small & mid sized cameras tend to be more easier to take along, for random lucky shots).

In case of doubt there are two camera review sites that also measure shutterlag;
http://www.imaging-resource.com/ (don't read the backdated comments next to the numbers, just look at the numbers)
http://www.dpreview.com
Mathilde uP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2003, 1:09 AM   #3

Many cameras with manual overrides can do this, provided he sets the exposure manually and prefocuses roughly on a place where the action may happen. Unless the light is very poor, there's likely to be quite good depth of focus.

Just disabling autofocus and prefocusing manually makes a huge difference to response time.
Alan T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2003, 1:35 PM   #4

Default Lag Time...