Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old May 23, 2010, 7:57 PM   #1

Default The constant need to feel I need to upgrade

How many people out there feel caught up in the upgrading of camera bodies? So far Ive resisted upgrading from my 40D to something like the 7D. I upgraded from a 300D to the 30D for the speed of shooting wildlife, then I went to the 40D for the better FPS as well. The 50D came out and I found that it had no faster FPS and there was little else I could see that Id upgrade for. Then I started shooting more landscapes and Portraits so the speed thing really became a non issue on the whole. Now I find myself looking at the 7D and wondering if I would get better images than the 40D produces but I can honestly say I'm happy with almost everything about the 40D. I look at the FF cameras and wonder about getting one so I have both kind of cameras. If the money was available Id probably add to my collection of L lenses. I do see many people on different camera sites that seem to update the cameras almost as each new one comes out. I ask myself will that make the photos better, am I being left behind in the technology stakes? Does anyone else wonder about these things. The camera companies seem to be putting out new better cameras all the time and many of us seem caught up in all this new stuff. Who else is pondering these issues?
aladyforty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 23, 2010, 8:06 PM   #2

If you need better low light, then upgrading would be a good idea to a 7D or a FF. If HD is something you want then upgrade will be something you will want to consider. IQ got a little better from the 40D to the 7D and it would be a big jump if you went to a 5D.