Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 11, 2010, 4:41 AM   #1

Default Photo sharpness

This is a bit of an odd question, but i feel like i need to ask it.

How sharp is sharp enough?

I am not a professional (yet? ) and for now, i just enjoy taking pictures of my surroundings, sport events...but all pictures i take are for personal use only.

So called 'sharp' lenses do cost a lot of money. Most of the time- more money than i afford to spend, and i never know how sharp do i need my pictures to be- because they won't be enlarged or sold...so, do i really need those expensive and super sharp lenses, or can i do with more modest equipment?

I hope my question is understandable,feel free to ask questions if it isn't.
Ishay is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 11, 2010, 5:11 AM   #2

If all you'll ever do is look at your photos on a TV or computer monitor, then you really don't need sharp lenses or high resolution image sensors.

If you'll be printing your photos at 4X6, you can probably get away with a lesser lens.

If you'll be cropping your images to recompose your photos in post processing, or you'll be printing at 8X10, then the resolution of the image sensor and the sharpness of the lens start to matter more.

So long as you're satisfied with the quality of the images you're getting, nothing else matters. But there are sharp lenses that don't cost an arm and a leg, and once you've gotten some sharp images, it's hard to go back. But chances are that the lens or lenses you have already are pretty good within their range somewhere, and if you can find out where and limit your use of it to that range, then you'll see the difference and want to keep it up.

If you've never tasted steak, you might be happy with hamburger. But once you've had a grass fed filet mignon ...
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2010, 6:05 AM   #3

Thanks for the quick answer. Now I'll focus my question a little bit more.