Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 9, 2003, 2:45 PM   #1
Hub

Default Canon G5 vs. Canon S50 vs. Sony V1

I do not haave any digital photo experience. However, I have been using a Canon A1 SLR for about 20 years for all of my photo needs. I have several lenses for it.
I am having a hard time deciding which of the cameras to get mentioned in the subject line.
I have one store person tell me how much better the Sony V1 is over the Canon G5. Another said that my best choice is the Canon S50.
My need are general all around photography including action sports. I have even considered the Canon Digital Rebel kit but find it a little expensive for the limited photography that I now do.
After all of that (sorry), does anyone have a recommendation for which of the 3 would be my best choice?
Thank you in advance! I love this forum and Steve's board! It is a terrific site!
Hub is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 9, 2003, 2:53 PM   #2
Administrator

The Sony will have less autofocus/shutter lag, as well as lower noise (smiliar to film grain) and chromatic aberrations (purple fringing), compared to the Canon S50 or G5.

It also tests better on resolution charts.

If you like the Canon models, I'd look at the G3 or S45 (4 Megapixel Models) instead. Canon decided to drop a new 5MP sensor into the S50 and G5, without upgrading the lens design.

As a result, many users consider the older models to be much better.

But, the V1 is going to be faster from an autofocus and shutter lag perspective compared to any of these models, and will be able to resolve more detail, too.

However, you need to be more specific on what kind of action sports you are talking about, and whether you mean indoor sports, outdoor daytime sports, nighttime sports, etc.

You'll probably want a much different camera for lower light sports, because of the noise levels at higher ISO speeds from most non-Digital SLR camera models.