Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 23, 2010, 9:14 AM   #1

Default what do you consider a great photo??

what is the criteria for you to say....."wow that is a GREAT shot!" also, what magazine publications would you say have the best images and turn to for inspiration?
themadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 23, 2010, 9:25 AM   #2

I use the same criterion for lots of media: If it's a good story, well told, it's great.

I think National Geographic publishes the best photographs, and since the demise of Life Magazine, that's all there is. But I don't use it for inspiration. (I have no desire to photograph wildebeests, thank you.)

Last edited by TCav; Jun 23, 2010 at 9:27 AM.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2010, 9:46 AM   #3

i would pick up cmyk magazine from time to time but barnes and noble no longer carries it. as a traditional media artist i also pick up juxtapoz for its coverage of underground artist. i have been looking for more mainstream mags that i could pick up on newsstands regularly as B-N is a 30 minute trek from where i live. we have absolutely NO bookstores in my city (sad).

i too have no desire to photograph anything that could possibly turn me into a snack.
Old Jun 23, 2010, 10:08 AM   #4

I grew up in New York City. My inspiration was "New York's Picture Newspaper" the New York Daily News, though there were lots of other excellent newspapers in the City (Long Island Press stands out. The Times and the World-Telegraph were excellent papers, but weren't much for photographs.) I also remember the great photos in Life and Look magazines and Time-Life's Nature Series that my grandfather gave my sister and I as kids. And, of course, my grandmother's subscription to National Geographic.