Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jun 25, 2010, 6:15 PM   #1

Default One month with the Canon 7D

I'll start off by saying that I am not a professional photographer only an enthusiast who uses a Sony/Minolta system. I do not own any G lenses but have use of some of them when needed. A friend of mine has a very nice collection of Sony lenses along with 2 other camera systems.

With that being said this same friend loaned me his Canon system as he's deciding which one to sell. The Canon system includes the 7D, 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM, 70-200 f/4L IS USM, EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, Canon 1.4 TC and a Rokinon 8mm fisheye.

The 17-55 and 70-200 lenses are built like a lens should be built. No moving parts on the outside, able to manually focus any time and silent focus. I was really impressed with these lenses.

He let me use the Canon system for about a month and these are some of the things I've learned from this experience.

Canon seems to be way ahead of Sony in terms of quality and technology. And I do understand that the 7D is a newer camera then the A-700.
The 7D is a very high performance camera compared to my Sony A-700 or his A-550. The biggest difference seems to be with the auto focus system.

When you have the 7D in the 19 point AF and press the shutter down half way you can hear something in the camera quickly wind up and see the focus points appear in the viewfinder. That along with it's 8-FPS, 18mp and good high ISO leaves me hoping that Sony has taken a good close look at this camera and builds their new A-7?? to compete with it.

In terms of IQ there is not so much of a difference as you might think. The 7D seems to over expose quite a bit and was less predictable then my A-700.

There was less PP that needed to be done with the 7D. The advantage of the 18mp is you can crop more and have less of a negative effect on the end result.