Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jul 8, 2010, 6:07 AM   #1

Default Advice Photographing the Pyramids at Giza

Hi,

I'm relatively new to the world of DSLR having just purchased a Canon 450d with 18-55mm and 75-300mm lenses.

Now i find myself on a trip the Pyramids in Giza, Egypt.

Could anybody please advise on accessories like filters, or a different lens i should purchase before i travel and any tips you may have for shooting such a landscape.

Many Thanks

Dave
kingyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 8, 2010, 6:20 AM   #2

The 75-300 isn't very good, and you may have some problems with chromatic aberration when shooting in high contrast situations like that. The Canon 70-300 IS USM and the 55-250 IS are better choices, plus they're stabilized. A Circular Polarizing filter might be a good idea as well, but it should be a good one. A cheap filter can cause problems.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 8, 2010, 6:33 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingyd View Post
Hi,

I'm relatively new to the world of DSLR having just purchased a Canon 450d with 18-55mm and 75-300mm lenses.

Now i find myself on a trip the Pyramids in Giza, Egypt.

Could anybody please advise on accessories like filters, or a different lens i should purchase before i travel and any tips you may have for shooting such a landscape.

Many Thanks

Dave
Welcome to the forum. You have everything you need to
take good pictures. The 18-55mm is a fairly good lens for
landscape shots. I'm sure you don't need any general
advice like keep your horizon level, use a tripod if you
have one etc....

You can expect very bright sun at this time of year. Take
care with your exposures. Take a few shots at different
settings. If in doubt, use exposure bracketing. If you do
feel the need to buy something, a circular polariser would
be my first choice. As for buying a different lens, that is a