Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 6, 2010, 10:36 AM   #1
rbh

Default Does size matter? APS-C vs Micro Four thirds Sensor

Hi:

I am a newbie on this site as well as to photography - this is my first post. If this is not the right forum I apologize in advance. So far I had Canon SD800 that I lost last week.

I have been researching a cameras for purchase - SLRS (T1i/T2i) and Micro-Fourthirds (E-PL1, Sony NEX-3/5) as my wife and I want better IQ.

I have been reading on sensor size and read the post by TCav "'Focal Length' and 'Crop Factor'". I am not sure I understood all the tenchincal details on the Focal length

Ken Rockwell's Half Frame fiasco http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/half-frame.htm and another article which seems to contradict each other http://www.wrotniak.net/photo/43/sensor-size.html.

Q: Would the image quality be different on SLR using APS-C and Micro-Fourthirds such as E-PL1/Sony or Panasonic for:

1. Low Light outdoor night photography
2. Low light indoor photography
3. Landscape photography
4. Indoor people photography

I know the type of lens used would also make a difference. Would it be possible to compare using the same lens - say 18-55Kit lens on T1i on all the cameras (not sure if I could find E-PL1 could take an adapter to attach the lens). Also, does it matter to compare like this? Would it be more appropriate to just compare the the kit lens that came with individual cameras?

Thanks in advance. I have read quite a few posts by Sarah, Shoturtle, Tcav and Mark - very very informative and helpful.

Best regards,
Rishi
Old Aug 6, 2010, 11:40 AM   #2
Administrator

Quote:
I have been researching a cameras for purchase - SLRS (T1i/T2i) and Micro-Fourthirds (E-PL1, Sony NEX-3/5) as my wife and I want better IQ.