Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 17, 2010, 8:50 AM   #1

Default Upgrade cheap lenses or A100 body?

I've been using a Sony A100 for a few years with three lenses that I had left over from my Minolta days. There's a kit 35-80, a ?-210, and a 20ish-?. None of the lenses are great, and I think that the two non-kit lenses are Quantaray.

From what I understood when I purchased it, the A100 is/was a pretty decent camera. However, when I compare photos shot on my Sony with those I shot on my friend's D90 (stock lens), there's a marked difference. I've been able to tease some more out of the Sony photos in Photoshop, but they just seem to lack a certain "pop" that I can easily reproduce with the D90. Is this due to my lower quality lenses, or to the difference in camera bodies?

I'm going to have some money to put toward photography in the next few months, and I'm trying to decide what I should upgrade. Since my lenses aren't great, I'm not married to Sony, but of course it'd be nice to keep using my current lenses while I gradually upgrade my collection. Am I better off getting higher quality lenses for my existing A100, or should I abandon the Sony ship and move to a Nikon or Canon and start fresh? Perhaps even an upgrade to a different Sony body?

Thanks.
Whiteknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 17, 2010, 8:57 AM   #2

Welcome to these forums Whiteknight ! I also shoot with a Sony a100 and I think that it is a fine camera. I suspect that your lenses aren't the best although I have a Quantaray 28-90 left over from my Minolta camera and it is a fine lens. I would suggest you get a Sigma 17-70mm f2.8/4.5 macro, and I think you'll be quite pleased with your shots. Check out KEH for a used one (I got mine for $265) and it is an amazingly sharp lens. I also suggest that you post in the Sony/Minolta forum here and you'll get some very good advice.