Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Sep 13, 2010, 10:40 PM   #1

Default macbook/bootcamp/parallels question

hi, i am a new macbook pro owner. Never had a mac before of any kind.

Problem:
I have photo editing software that i have used for a while now and have gotten very used to. It only works in windows...

solution:
Parallels or Bootcamp (i am not sure which yet).

I am relatively computer illiterate, and don't really understand how computer things work. I have done a bit of research about tranfering files between the mac OS and Parallels/Bootcamp and have heard that they are not compatible? is this true?

So i present these questions for the knowledgeable person:

#1: Parallels or Bootcamp? Which is easier to transfer Jpeg's from mac OS, and vice versa?

#2: Do i need to "do" anything to transfer jpegs to and from each OS?

#3: If i save an edited file in my editing software in the windows OS as a JPEG, can my mac OS read that file as a normal JPEG? or does it do something weird to it?

ANY help would be greatly appreciated. I dont really know anything about what i am trying to talk about, lol. The only think i need the windows OS on my mac is for the one photo editing software, JPEG's only.

Thanks!
-Eric
Old Sep 13, 2010, 11:12 PM   #2

Jpeg file format is compatible with all OS that support graphics. (AFAIK) Nothing special needs to be done to transfer the files. The first question, I can't help with at all.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2010, 11:17 PM   #3

brain is correct, I edit sometime on my work laptop, and save the files on a usb stick and transfer them right onto my mac without any issue between window OS and Mac OS.

On question 1, I really do not know. As I do not use them. Never had a problem just moving the whole jpeg over with a usb stick.
Old Sep 14, 2010, 2:19 AM   #4
Super Moderator

To answer the question you asked: