Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Nov 5, 2010, 8:42 PM   #1

Default it's that time... time to talk about winter camera care.

I am totally new to dslr cameras (as of about 2 weeks ago). I live in New England and i am really worried about the temperature and what affect that will have on my lens's and camera body.

Soooo... what do i need to be aware of? I have heard about this plastic bag thing when going to from cold to hot.. but I have a camera body plus 4 lens's that i regularly carry with me... do they all need to go into a bag?

I am apprehensive right now as to any temperature difference and what it could do... Soooo... what is the worst that could happen? the lens's get foggy, and i'd have to dry them down? could mechanics get screwed up?

If the camera body stays attached to the lens, can the sensor and mirror condensate still?

so many questions..
any help would be greatly appreciated (and I'm sure this has been on other people's minds as well.)

if there is another thread on this already, feel free to point me in that direction. I could not find any in the search.

Thanks!
Old Nov 5, 2010, 8:56 PM   #2

One problem with really cold weather is that your batteries won't last as long.

I live in a relatively dry area, humidity rarely gets high. I just leave the camera with lens mounted in the camera bag until everything warms up and haven't had a problem. It's the electronics you really need to worry about (beyond foggy lenses).
mtngal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 8:58 PM   #3

i have the tenba messenger bag which holds all my gear, do you think that would be sufficient enough to avoid damage if i just leave everything in there until it reaches room temp?
Old Nov 5, 2010, 9:53 PM   #4

mntgal has it right. Batteries don't like cold.