Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 26, 2003, 2:14 AM   #1

Default I need help selecting a camera.

Hello. I need some help in selecting a new digital camera. I have been wanting one for quite some time now and have christmas money set aside to finally make a purchase, the only problem is I have no idea what I want/need.

I will be using the camera for family photos (sports, parties, the usual) and also for hobby. I would like to keep the price under 600, but if I have to go over that to get a great camera I wouldn't mind paying extra for quality. I am new to the digital photo world. I was looking at the canon rebel, but that may be just too much for me to begin with. I like the idea of being able to change lenses, but I might be better off sticking with a point-and-click camera (if you feel otherwise, please let me know). I know very little about lenses, but would love to learn. I have been looking at these models so far (prices from newegg):

OLYMPUS C5060WZ 5.1MP,4X OPT,3.5X DG,1.8"Lcd,xD/CF/MicroDrive
Price: $599.00

OLYMPUS C-750UZ 4MP,10X OPT,4X DG,1.5"Lcd,xD
Price: $477.00

NIKON COOLPIX 5400 5.1MP,4X OPT,4X DG,1.5" Lcd,CF/MicroDrive
Price: $578.00

Sony DSC-F717 5MP,5X OPT,2X DG,1.8"LCD,MS
Price: $800.00 (getting expensive :-)

Are these cameras considered good camers for the average user? I don't mind a high learning curve (actually I like a challange!) and would like to get a camera that is a great bang for the buck.
Which would you recommend? If it's not on the list, feel free to give me other suggestions. (actually, please do!) Basically, I want a camera that will last me a few years, is fun to use, and of course will give me wonderful pictures. If it means I have to spend $1000 then so be it, although I doubt it. Let me know what you think.

Thanks for your help!
Digiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 26, 2003, 8:48 AM   #2

From the ones that you listed, I would either get the: