Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 10, 2011, 10:04 AM   #1

Default International North American Auto Show

I'm going to the Internation North American Auto Show next week and I'm hoping to get some great shots while I'm there. I'm a bit new to the world of DSLR's and I'm getting the hang out it, but still learning. Any tips for exposure settings etc.. while I'm there. I've never gone so I'm not sure what the environment is going to be like.
Flickr / kristy barker photography
kr.j is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 10, 2011, 12:57 PM   #2

Selecting the correct lens and WB will be two pivot issues at the auto show. What camera and lens combination are you going to use? Also it may also be helpful to set a custom WB.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2011, 7:30 PM   #3

Well like I said, I'm quite new at this.
I have a Canon. I'm probably going to use my 18-55mm lens. WB I haven't decided. I was thinking custom. Might just play around and see what works best when I get there.
Flickr / kristy barker photography
kr.j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2011, 9:31 PM   #4

Well the 18-55mmIS lens will work well, and custom WB is probably the way to go particularly is there is any colored lighting.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 13, 2011, 2:45 PM   #5

While WB might be an issue, it won't be the same all over the building/for all displays. So I tended to choose a WB that was reasonably close to the majority lighting and shot in raw (can always change things later in pp). Or else set a custom WB at each display (too much work for me).