Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 27, 2011, 12:41 PM   #1

Default Depth of field and f-stop

Hi.

I have a Canon SX100 IS and a Canon SX130 IS.

The SX100 has f-stop range from F2.8-4.3
The SX130 has f-stop range from of F3.4 to 5.6

I'm a newbie.

One of the things I would like to be able to do is have a shallow depth of field for some of my photos.

If I understand correctly, the lower the f-stop setting the shallower the depth of field can be.

So does that mean, the SX100 can produce images with a shallower depth of field than the SX130?

Thanks.
testers is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2011, 12:46 PM   #2

DoF depends on focal length as well as f/stop. That is REAL focal length, not 35mm equiv.

Assuming the two camera are used at the same focal length, the SX100 would produce a shallower DoF - by an amount that no one is likely to notice.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 12:54 PM   #3

Yes, but the image sensors in those cameras are pretty small, so you wouldn't notice a lot of difference. There are a number of factors that contribute to a shallow depth of field; the aperture is only one. Increasing the distance between the subject and the background will allow you to take advantage of whatever depth of field you've got.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 3:50 PM   #4

Agree with TCav, DoF differences are pretty much going to be a wash. The 100 has 1/2.5 sensor and a 6-60mm actual lens vs. the 130s 1/2.3 sensor and a 5-60mm lens with the 100 being about a half stop faster. The larger sensor on the 130 will mostly negate the half stop difference. Seperate the subject and the backgroung as much as you can.

A. C.
ac.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2011, 10:48 PM   #5

Thanks for the great info.

If many of the subjects and backgrounds are stationary, I will need to figure out another way, if there is, to reduce depth of field.