Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Aug 8, 2011, 1:28 PM   #1

Default Storing Pics

I'm a relative newbie and just finished my 1st formal class on photography. As a result, I'm going to be taking more pics in "Raw" format which will use up more disk space. I also just purchased "Lightroom 3" to organize and maintain my files.

I also purchased a book by Scott Kelby who recommends that one store their photos on an external hard drive if they use a laptop as I do. Thus, I am shopping for an external drive. Recommendations?
Outhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 8, 2011, 1:51 PM   #2

I see Staples has a special on a 2 TB Western Digital My Book right now: http://www.staples.com/Western-Digit...duct-nr_906287 I use a somewhat older My Book, and find it perfectly adequate. FWIW
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 2:22 PM   #3

You may also want to look at burning your files to DVD and then storing off site as well.

This will protect you better against losing your pictures should the external hard drive fail.

The the storing the DVDs off-site separates the originals (the copies on your external hard drive) from the back-up (The DVDs stored off-site.)

Take care, Glen
tacticdesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 4:08 PM   #4

Right now, I use the laptop hard drive as my primary and I have a USB backup drive that I keep at my office after I back up the files at home. I think I am going to get another USB drive as my primary drive and keep using the other USB drive as my back up. I do appreciate the need to keep the backups away from the source.
Old Aug 8, 2011, 5:18 PM   #5
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Outhouse View Post
I'm a relative newbie and just finished my 1st formal class on photography. As a result, I'm going to be taking more pics in "Raw" format which will use up more disk space. I also just purchased "Lightroom 3" to organize and maintain my files.