Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 21, 2004, 9:39 PM   #1

Default Professional digital cameras

I am new to digital photography and could use some advice. Currently I have a Kodak CX4230 as my only digital camera and would like to purchase a better camera. Although the 4230 does an excellent job for what it is, I would like to have a professional digital camera. Are there any professional photographers using digital cameras for magazines, ect. If so, what kind of cameras do they use and what megapixel? Any answers that I can get would be of help to me.
Thanks
John Adams
johnny9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 21, 2004, 10:37 PM   #2
djb

i'm not a proffessional but, i'll put in my 2 cents worth. from what i gather from this forum is that pros are using cameras such as the canon 1ds, nikon d1, and maybe the kodak 14Megapixel camera.
all these are in the $6000 to $8000+ range. if you want something really good try the canon digital rebel, canon 10d, or nikon d100 or d70. i think fuli makes the s2 also which uses nikon lenses. the second group of cameras range form about $899 to $1500 without lenses. hope this helps and i'm sure some others can elaborate more.

dennis
djb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2004, 10:49 PM   #3

Thanks Dennis, that is what I am looking for. My price range is around 1k to 2k at the tops. Just read an article on the Canon d30, but have not priced it as of yet. The article said that 6-megapixels can produce 35mm quality at 11x17 with this camera. Just cashed in my 401k and need to buy something for myself and my new hobby.
Old Jan 21, 2004, 11:05 PM   #4
Administrator

The EOS-D30 is a 3 Megapixel Model. It's very good, but a little dated. It was replaced with the Canon EOS-D60 (which was since replaced by the newer EOS-10D).

Out of the Canon lineup, the EOS-10D is probably the better choice in the under $2k budget right now.