Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Dec 22, 2011, 11:39 AM   #1

Default Inherent advantage(s)--compact market

In terms of pocket cameras including phones, is the writing on the wall for compact (pocket) P&S's? I just visited the phone store, and I was pretty amazed at the quality of new phones (though I still refuse to get one, because I don't want the data plan). In terms of the camera, while I haven't used one really, they seem quite impressive. I'm thinking of friends with the iPhone camera, etc.

My question is whether it's worth the effort to buy a new P&S, or is it "just as good" to buy a phone with a nice camera on it. I understand that P&S have optical zoom capabilities that I don't see phone cameras having...

Can phones have comparable sensors (to P&S)?
Is the lens quality night and day (or comparable)?
Etc.

I'm just an enthusiast, but I don't know much. I'm not a pro or semi-pro. I have an SD4000 Canon (which I like), and a decent phone camera. Just wondering.
roaddawg31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 22, 2011, 1:12 PM   #2

G'day RD

Several thousand years ago when computers were called "286s or 386s" & hard disks were 5Mb or 'gosh-golly-huge' 10Mb, I attended a lecture with one of the many "computer experts" of the day where he made the statement that he'd like to see the day when the computer grew up to become a telephone ... ie- it became so easy to use & had the functionality to do almost anything

Who's to say where mobile phones will go to? > They weren't around when the computer expert was making his pronouncements

The other day I received a xmas catalogue from a local supplier, and one of the many [useless to me] items in the list was a clip-on 10x zoom lens for the mobile phone. It seemed to be about as long as a phone is today, and had a cradle / clip thing for the phone itself, where the phone could be held in place and also fine-tuned into a location behind the zoom lens