Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Mar 26, 2012, 7:17 AM   #1

Default WHAT DO YOU HATE ABOUT YOUR TRIPOD? Please read.... Need INput!

Hey Guys,
As most of you may not know, Im a full time student graduating the end of this year. Ill be ending this year with my AAS in Computer Aided Drafting, and Ive got a project for my final for one of my 200 classes that directly involves photography.

I have to re-design a camera TRIPOD mount. My professor is an avid photographer and she hates the way the top of her tripod is designed. So, she wants us to redesign one.

My question to you guys, is what do you most dislike about your tripod mount? And what do you like the MOST? What would you "wish" was incorporated in your mount? Weight? Articulation? Collapse?

Please share your wants with me?? Also, include the brand/model that you are using so I can see how it is designed also! Thanks GUYS!
cturboaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 26, 2012, 7:19 AM   #2

I should clarify just a bit~~~~~~ Im speaking of the tripod head!!! I plan on keeping the ball and socket, but beyond that- it needs some work.
Old Mar 26, 2012, 8:56 AM   #3

Hate (well really don't) to say this but nothing.
For photography we use the Really Right Stuff BH55 and a Arca Swiss Z1.

Prior to that we tried the Manfrotto 322RC2 and that was very nice but as it aged would drift as you tried to lock it down with a larger weight, or a long lens.
It also had operating issues in the extreme sub zero (-30 or more.) like sticking.

However,
For video we have been using an old Manfrotto 029 rc0 pan tilt head and that one is a pain.
Big, lots of knobs that don't always want to release, and motion is not smooth.

Hope this helps a bit.
Old Mar 26, 2012, 8:58 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterP View Post
Hate (well really don't) to say this but nothing.
For photography we use the Really Right Stuff BH55 and a Arca Swiss Z1.