Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Jan 29, 2004, 2:17 PM   #1

Default Im new to this and will be getting a camera in a few hours.?

Hello everyone, I have been lurking this message board, for a few days, reading about different cameras and stuff. I have decided, that it probably would be best to get a 3mp camera the first go around, and go up from there. All I plan on doing with this camera, is taking some nice pics when im on the road, and when I take pictures around the house. (Meaning my family)
I have been looking at the kodak CX6330 and the cannon A300. I checked www.walmart.com, and the have the cheapest prices on these cams. (as far as being able to just go get it out of a store)
I noticed that the resolution on the A300 is slightly higher and so are the MP's. With this being said, would this camera be any better than the kodak? If anyone have experience with these two cameras, could you give your opinion? Also, I have limited myself to spending 200 before taxes.
If you have anymore suggestions, please inform me.
Charles
charleslong is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 29, 2004, 2:24 PM   #2

I purchased (or, my company purchased, after my selection) the Kodak DX4330 for work. I had read some reviews on it, and it seemd to come out fairly well. Plus, it seemed like a very intuitive camera, which I knew my boss would need.

For our purposes, it's worked out fine (we buy/sell commercial real estate, so we are often taking pictures of properties). Plus, my boss likes to "borrow" it when he goes out of town for the weekend, to take pictures of him and his girlfriend and their trips. I wouldn't say any of the pictures have blown me away. But, my boss knows very little about photography, and always shoots in Auto mode, and his pictures turn out well. It does have some manual control to it, but it's not like an SLR.