Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 5, 2004, 12:47 PM   #1

Default Startup home studio must-haves? (equipment)

Hey folks -

I'm a long-time landscape and nature photo enthusiast who is just getting into portrait/studio type work. Professionally, I'm a computer graphics artist, but I hope to develop my photo skills to some degree of part-time profitability.

For now, my goal is to develop my portrait/modeling photography experience and be able to provide a wide range of shot types. Some degree or portability (for location shoots) is a consideration.

In starting to set up my home studio, I've begun purchasing various studio equipment (lighting, background, etc) and wanted any advice from those more experienced that I am about what some additional "must-have" items are.

Here is a list of what I have already (please make other suggestions!):

Canon EOS D60 (purchasing a EOS-1D Mark II when available)
Assorted lenses
Canon 550EX Speedlite flash (with omnibounce)
Canon 420EX Speedlite flash (with omnibounce)
Lumiquest Promax System
Bogen & Canon tripods

Studio related:

Da-lite Deluxe Background stand
Photek Backround in-a-bag 8'x12' (white)
Photek Softliter II umbrella 46" (white)

SP-Systems Home Portrait Kit (2- 920MDLVP Strobes 1- SP100 Strobe 1 each: SPHOLD AC Socket and Cord, SPCLAMP AC Socket and Clamp 2- SPBRACK Swivel Brackets 1- SP-Snoot for SP-100 2- PMLS 90" Lightstands 1- SPBarn100 Barndoors 2- 36" White Umbrellas 1- SP Light Kit Bag)

Specifically what I'm looking for:

Are there additional lights, accessories, and other items that should be at the top of my "to buy" list? Are there specific things I should keep in mind?

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

--
Zero Dean
Zerotopia.com
zerodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 5, 2004, 1:14 PM   #2

You did not mention a flash capable meter in your equipment list.
They really help with setting ratios