Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > General Discussion

Old Feb 9, 2004, 6:31 PM   #1

Default Sony DSC F-717 vs. Olympus C5060

After weeks of looking, I'm considering purchasing an Olympus C-5060 or Sony CyberShot DSC F-717. Does anyone have any positive/negatives in comparing either camera? My main uses will be close-up pictures to show detail of artwork, pictures to upload online, reference photos for painting (from landscapes to a butterfly on a flower), and possibly enlarging prints for printing. Any thoughts would be very much appreciated!!!
Thanks!
siberhusky3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 9, 2004, 7:46 PM   #2

I use the 717 and I have little to complain about it. The only thing I wish it had was a little bit more optical zoom. But other than that it is a great camera. I'm still a beginner but you can check out some of my pictures at my website. Its in the signature below. I've taken many close ups witht he 717 and it's a great camera for it.
CheckSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2004, 8:07 PM   #3

Default Thanks!

Some great pictures on your site! I have a friend who has the 717 and she loves it as well! I'll have to get her web address to send you. She's done some really neat things with her photos with a program called "Anfy," I think. I'm just not sure it's the best camera for me. I need low resolution pictures for my website but also need really good reference photos and the option to enlarge prints.
Frankly, right now my head is too full of camera specs and afraid I just don't know enough about what they mean to make a meaningful evaluation. Steve's Digicam Site has so much wonderful information, but it's hard to sort it out with limited understanding of the specs. My list of cameras is growing, not narrowing!!! Hope this forum will help sort it out!
REALLY appreciate your reply!
Old Feb 10, 2004, 9:37 AM   #4

Quote: